Client of the Year Award

City of Coquitlam

Coquitlam 300

The recipient of the 2018 ACEC-BC Client of the Year Award is the City of Coquitlam, in recognition of the City’s outstanding support to the engineering consulting community in the areas of:

  • procurement and delivery methodology that leads to clear scope;
  • excellent change management;
  • use of fair and balanced contracts;
  • appropriate risk assessment management and allocation;
  • encouragement of a culture of collaboration and team ethic;
  • communication and relationship management; and
  • engagement of the consulting engineering community

The City of Coquitlam has embraced qualifications based selection (QBS) for civil engineering design services. In 2017, the City used a combination of QBS and request for proposals (RFP) to procure $5 Million in consulting engineering services. Every three years the City reaches out to the consulting community through a request for qualifications (RFQ) process to develop a list of firms that meet its requirements for engineering services. A structured RFQ process is used to keep the content of the submissions consistent and to allow for a fair evaluation that ensures the consulting engineering firms selected meet the City’s requirements. Adopted by City Council, this QBS process selects engineering based on technical ability and project experience rather than a price driven evaluation process. Through this process, designs are developed in a collaborative manner. This prevents missed communications and opportunities that often result in rework. It provides clear scope definition, limiting scope changes and adjustments. The City’s efforts to put value in qualifications makes it a preferred client by the consulting community and ensures that it will get top quality service and priority.

The City of Coquitlam is a valued partner to consulting engineers. They bring fairness to the procurement process, while ensuring
that they retain the best qualified consultants for their assignments and the best value for the City. In an industry that is more and more price driven, and where engineering services are often viewed as a commodity, the City of Coquitlam is setting an excellent example of valuing the professional services that we provide via qualification based selection.

Previous Recipients of the Client of the Year Award

2017 City of Surrey
2016 BC Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure