Meritorious Achievement Award

Ahmet Ulker 300Ahmet (Met) Ulker, P.Eng., FEC, LEED BD+C

The ACEC-British Columbia Meritorious Achievement Award recognizes an individual consulting engineer for outstanding contributions to the engineering profession, the industry and the community. The recipient of this prestigious award in 2018 is Ahmet (Met) Ulker, P.Eng., FEC, LEED BD+C, AES Engineering Ltd.

Met obtained his Bachelor of Applied Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Middle East Technical University in 1976. A chance encounter with two Canadians backpacking near his hometown of Tire piqued his interest in opportunities abroad. With an adventurous spirit, Met emigrated from Turkey to Canada in 1981 and secured work in Calgary with stints at AME Engineering and Cheriton Engineering (acquired by Stanley Associates, precursor to Stantec). In 1984 he relocated to Vancouver to join Reid Crowther, where he successfully rebuilt the Vancouver office during the recession. Staff count had dwindled to a mere two persons, and through Met’s business developments efforts and perseverance grew to a team of 40 strong.

One of Met’s many strengths is his acumen for business, which he comes by naturally through his genuine desire to help and his remarkable ability to develop constructive professional relationships. In 2002, he moved on to Keen Engineering to open their electrical division and became a Director of the firm. After the sale of Keen to Stantec in 2005, Met became the Practice Leader for Stantec’s Electrical/Mechanical/Structural/Energy and Sustainability Groups, overseeing a staff of over 200 in Vancouver.

In 2008, Met joined AES Engineering as a partner and was instrumental in opening the Vancouver office. In less than 10 years the office has grown to 60 staff. AES is now one of the largest consulting firm specializing in electrical engineering in Western Canada, with four locations including Calgary, Edmonton and Victoria and staff of 90 total.

Over the course of his career, Met has managed projects in Canada, Turkey, US, Japan, Mexico, Philippines, Malaysia and Mongolia. In 2010 Met was named a Fellow of Engineers Canada for his voluntary service and for his outstanding contribution to the engineering profession. His professional and community contributions include volunteering countless hours to Engineers and Geoscientists BC, and is an active member of BC Construction Roundtable (current President) and ACEC-BC, as well as helping many newcomers to Canada find work in their chosen profession through referrals within his network.

Previous Recipients of the Meritorious Achievement Award

2017 Doug Hinton, P.Eng.
2016 Kerry Rudd, P.Eng., C.Eng., FICE
2015 John Collings, P.Eng.
2014 Brian Johnson, P.Eng.
2013 John Watson, P.Eng., FEC
2012 Chris Newcomb, P.Eng.
2011 Neil Cumming, FACI, P.Eng
2010 Ian Hargreaves, P.Eng
2009 Terry McQuillan
2008 Phil Seabrook, P.Eng FEC
2007 Ernest Portfors, P.Eng
2006 Peter Buckland, P.Eng. and Peter Taylor, P.Eng.
2005 Russell Fraser, QC, P.Eng
2004 Bob Brocklebank, P.Eng
2003 Frank Leighton, P.Eng
2002 Earle Klohn, P.Eng
2001 Tom Simons, P.Eng