Young Professional Award

Graham Lovely 300Graham Lovely, P.Eng, LEED® AP BD+C, MCW Consultants Ltd.

The ACEC-British Columbia Young Professional Award recognizes an individual young professional who has demonstrated excellence in consulting business practices, outstanding achievements in their applicable fields, and leadership in the community. This year’s award recipient is Graham Lovely, P.Eng, LEED® AP BD+C, Associate, MCW Consultants Ltd.

Graham joined MCW in 2009 upon graduation from his engineering undergraduate studies at UBC. A highly ambitious individual he has quickly taken on many technical and managerial responsibilities at MCW. Through his career progression from project engineer, to project manager, and then to Associate, Graham has worked hard to integrate himself into the fabric of MCW and is a role model for future leaders, long term employees and a strong brand ambassador.

Since joining MCW, much of Graham’s work has been focused on projects for the Vancouver Airport Authority (YVR). MCW has been a trusted consultant of the airport for over 20 years, with dozens of projects ongoing at all times. As the leader of MCW’s Airport Projects Group, Graham has not only made impressive strides in his electrical engineering knowledge, but has tackled the challenge of working and thriving in the enormous facility and enterprise of YVR. Current projects span both major terminals, separate service buildings, apron areas, and off-site. Graham is involved in most of these projects as either project manager or technical and managerial advisor. More recently Graham has begun to work with UBC on various projects throughout campus, focused on energy and infrastructure. Graham feels very honored to work with both YVR and UBC as they are central organizations in his community.

Graham works hard to balance his project commitments with the administrative demands of his office work. He has assumed responsibility for his office’s electrical co-op student program, and is generous with his time to help on-board and orient new staff.

In terms of his community involvement, Graham is currently the chair of the ACEC-BC building engineering steering committee, and an active member of ACEC-BC’s Young Professionals’ Lower Mainland Subcommittee for student outreach. He is also tremendously active at UBC as a mentor to young engineers (mentoring four students in 2016/2017) and he participates in all manner of UBC co-op events and activities. He is very focused on nurturing and developing the next generation of engineers in the province and gives his time generously to his Alma Mater. Finally, his social stewardship work has included Microfinance, through Oikocredit Canada, and being a Board Member for St. Andrew’s Wesley United Church.

Previous Recipients of the Young Professional Award

2017 Zahra Pirani, P.Eng.
2016 Tijana Smiljanic, P.Eng.
2015 Mark Byram, P.Eng.
2014 Allison Clavelle, P.Eng.
2013 Selena Wilson, P.Eng.
2012 Mike Homenuke, P.Eng.
2011 Joel McAllister, P.Eng.
2010 James Kay, P.Eng.
2009 Santino Pirillo, P.Eng.
2008 Scott Campbell, P.Eng.